WISER Seminar Papers

WISER is very pleased to host the Wits Interdisciplinary Seminar in the Humanities. The presentations for the remainder of the current academic semester are listed below. The seminar takes place every Monday during the teaching term at 3:00pm in the WISER Seminar Room. Participants should please note that they are required to read the paper prior to the event.

WISER, and its predecessor institutions the Institute for Advanced Study and the African Studies Institute, have hosted similar seminars that date back to the late 1960s. The archive of those events, and the past papers of the current semester, is available here. A printable version of the seminar schedule for the current year is available here.

Date Author/s Title
Monday, 23 July, 2018 - 15:00
  • Johan
  • Mathew
On Principals Agency: Reassembling Trust in Indian Ocean Commerce
Monday, 30 July, 2018 - 15:00
  • Carina
  • Truyts
Fishfinger stew and peach tarts: from hunger to nourishment in the Dwars River Valley
Monday, 6 August, 2018 - 15:00
  • Ruth
  • Sacks
The City Speaks for Itself: Notes on approaching architecture in Kinshasa
Monday, 13 August, 2018 - 15:00
  • Lewis
  • Manthata
Transformation in Cricket South Africa
Monday, 20 August, 2018 - 15:00
  • Danny
  • Bradlow
Money Talks: International Law and the Governance of International Finance
Monday, 27 August, 2018 - 15:00
  • Caio
  • Simoes
“One of the most dangerous documents ever produced”: the United Nations, the Global South and the politics of race in the early decolonization era, ca.1946-1955
Monday, 10 September, 2018 - 15:00
  • Euclides
  • Goncalves
Arquivo Morto: notes on institutional memory in postcolonial Mozambique
Monday, 17 September, 2018 - 15:00
  • Naranjo
  • Rodrigo
The writing captivity through the comparative study of American literature.
Monday, 1 October, 2018 - 15:00
  • Thato
  • Masiangoako
Rationalizing injustice: surprising reinforcement of legal hegemony in South Africa
Monday, 8 October, 2018 - 15:00
  • Alf
  • Gunvald
Political Modernity in the Postcolony: Some Reflections of India's Bhil Heartland
Monday, 15 October, 2018 - 15:00
  • Melanie
  • Boehi
A South African social garden: People, plants and multispecies histories in the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden
Monday, 22 October, 2018 - 13:00
  • Michael
  • Neocosmos
Thinking the State in Africa Today
Monday, 29 October, 2018 - 15:00
  • T. Dunbar
  • Moodie
Confessing remorse about the evils of Apartheid: the Dutch Reformed Church in the Nineteen-Eighties