WISER Seminar Papers

WISER is very pleased to host the Wits Interdisciplinary Seminar in the Humanities. The presentations for the remainder of the current academic semester are listed below. The seminar takes place every Monday during the teaching term at 3:00pm in the WISER Seminar Room. Participants should please note that they are required to read the paper prior to the event.

WISER, and its predecessor institutions the Institute for Advanced Study and the African Studies Institute, have hosted similar seminars that date back to the late 1960s. The archive of those events is also available on the WISER web site at http://wiser.wits.ac.za.

Date Presented by Title
Monday, 14 October, 2019 - 15:00
  • Catherine
  • Janet
  • Jennifer
  • Burns
  • Giddy
  • Upton
Faith, Hope and Science in the time of AIDS
Monday, 7 October, 2019 - 15:00
  • Nkgopoleng
  • Moloi
Narratives of Mobility - understanding the movement of womxn in and around Johannesburg.
Monday, 30 September, 2019 - 15:00
  • Lucy
  • Allais
Kant’s racism and liberal political philosophy
Monday, 23 September, 2019 - 15:00
  • Tinashe
  • Mushakavanhu
The myth of Dambudzo Marechera and radical politics in Zimbabwe
Monday, 16 September, 2019 - 15:00
  • Stephen
  • Sparks
Apartheid's Anthropocene: The (Under)mining of a South African Company Town  
Monday, 26 August, 2019 - 15:00
  • Keith
  • Breckenridge
Networks of Mistrust: Ratings, Collateral and Debt in the emergence of African cyberfinance
Monday, 19 August, 2019 - 15:00
  • Crispian
  • Olver
Rents and repurposing in the local state
Monday, 12 August, 2019 - 15:00
  • Nimanthi
  • Rajasingham
Assembling Ethnicities in Neoliberal Times: Cultural Festivals, Housing for the Poor, and Erasing Minorities in Sri Lanka
Monday, 29 July, 2019 - 15:00
  • Megan
  • Eardley
Shaft Versus Klap: Acclimatization on Johannesburg’s Gold Mines 1950-1975
Monday, 27 May, 2019 - 15:00
  • Richard
  • Rottenburg
Technology and Lifeworld
Monday, 13 May, 2019 - 15:00
  • Annemi
  • Conradie
Channelling Out of Africa: colonial chic and imperial nostalgia in postcolonial worlds
Thursday, 11 April, 2019 - 02:00
  • Nafisa
  • Essop Sheik
A Few (More) Notes on Non-Intervention: Colonial Law and the Forging of a Fraternal Contract on the Margins of the Nineteenth Century British Empire
Monday, 8 April, 2019 - 15:00
  • Sizwe
  • Mpofu-Walsh
Obedient Rebellion: Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones and the Paradoxes of ‘Nuclear Order’
Monday, 18 March, 2019 - 15:00
  • Ufuoma
  • Akpojivi
‘Classism’ and Social Protest in Ghana: The Case Study of #OccupyGhana
Monday, 11 March, 2019 - 15:00
  • Wahbie
  • Long
Shame, envy, impasse and hope: On the psychopolitics of violence in SA
Monday, 4 March, 2019 - 15:00
  • Doug
  • Bafford
The Prosperity Gospel and an Unprosperous Reality in Post-Apartheid South Africa: Conservative Evangelical Responses to Charismatic Christianity
Monday, 25 February, 2019 - 15:00
  • Tinashe
  • Jakwa
Is the idea of ‘the state’ still useful?