WISER Seminar Papers

WISER is very pleased to host the Wits Interdisciplinary Seminar in the Humanities. The presentations for the remainder of the current academic semester are listed below. The seminar takes place every Monday during the teaching term at 3:00pm in the WISER Seminar Room. Participants should please note that they are required to read the paper prior to the event. WISER, and its predecessor institutions the Institute for Advanced Study and the African Studies Institute, have hosted similar seminars that date back to the late 1960s. The archive of those events is also available on the WISER web site at http://wiser.wits.ac.za.
Date Presented by Title
Monday, 17 May, 2021 - 15:00
  • Stephen
  • Sparks
Modernist/Modernising South Africa
Monday, 10 May, 2021 - 16:00
  • Albert
  • Mushai
The Long Road to Compensation for Silicosis Sufferers in South Africa
Monday, 19 April, 2021 - 16:00
  • Efthimios
  • Karayiannides
Orlando Patterson’s analyses of slavery as an intervention into debates around the political economy of the “Third World” in the 1970s
Monday, 12 April, 2021 - 16:00
  • Siphiwe
  • Dube
The New Religious Political Right in South Africa
Monday, 29 March, 2021 - 16:00
  • Crispian
  • Olver
What we can learn from the data about metropolitan political economies?
Tuesday, 23 March, 2021 - 16:00
  • Lucy
  • Allais
Freedom, Property and Markets
Monday, 15 March, 2021 - 16:00
  • Ariella Aïsha
  • Azoulay
Potential History - Unlearning Imperialism
Monday, 8 March, 2021 - 16:00
  • Charlie
  • Piot
Book discussion of The Fixer : Visa Lottery Chronicles
Monday, 1 March, 2021 - 16:00
  • Dennis
  • Davis
Funding of the Vaccine and the general implications of budget 2021 for inclusive growth and reduction of poverty
Monday, 2 November, 2020 - 16:00
  • Ayesha
  • Omar
Ibn Rushd’s _The Decisive Treatise_: A Text for Political Reform
Monday, 26 October, 2020 - 16:00
  • Ngaka
  • Mosiane
Landscapes of peripheral and displaced urbanisms
Monday, 19 October, 2020 - 16:00
  • Hilary
  • Lynd
Living Together: The ANC, the Soviet Union, and the National Question.
Monday, 12 October, 2020 - 16:00
  • Karl
  • von Holdt
Critically Engaged Sociology at SWOP : Four decades of South/North concept formation
Monday, 5 October, 2020 - 16:00
  • Quinn
  • Slobodian
South Africa and the Neoliberals
Monday, 21 September, 2020 - 16:00
  • Megan
  • Vaughan
Metabolic drift? food, fertiliser and the biology of history in Malawi
Monday, 14 September, 2020 - 16:00
  • Paul
  • Gilroy
Rereading Stuart Hall on Race
Monday, 7 September, 2020 - 16:00
  • Kaushik
  • Sunder Rajan
Just Health? : Law, Constitutionalism and Postcolonial Dis-ease
Monday, 24 August, 2020 - 16:00
  • Jean
  • Comaroff
After Labor
Monday, 17 August, 2020 - 16:00
  • Priya
  • Lal
Building National Universities and Making Human Resources in Southeastern Africa
Monday, 3 August, 2020 - 16:00
  • Alexandra
  • Parker
Spouse in the house: Household structures and roles, gender, and quality of life in the Gauteng City-Region,South Africa
Monday, 27 July, 2020 - 16:00
  • Stefan
  • Ouma
From the Plantation to the Fourth Industrial Revolution: Other Economic Geographies
Monday, 20 July, 2020 - 16:00
  • Adam
  • Tooze
Panel discussion of Crashed
Monday, 25 May, 2020 - 15:00
  • Lauren
  • Paremoer
Protect the poor but don’t meddle with those who can pay: Debating solidarity in the context of the NHI
Monday, 18 May, 2020 - 16:00
  • Joanna
  • Woods
Contemporary Speculative Fiction in Southern Africa
Monday, 11 May, 2020 - 16:00
  • Jeremy
  • Seekings
International actors and social protection in Africa, 2000-2020
Monday, 4 May, 2020 - 15:00
  • Divine
  • Fuh
On Monastic Seclusion: Making knowledge from an African University
Monday, 20 April, 2020 - 16:00
  • Jon
  • Klaaren
Responding to African Digital Platform Economies: A Preliminary Regulatory Space Analysis
Monday, 6 April, 2020 - 16:00
  • Laura
  • Phillips
The Making of the Lebowa Civil Service: Class Formation and Bantustan Administration
Monday, 30 March, 2020 - 15:00
  • Richard
  • Rottenburg
Some current transformations in the power of metrologies
Monday, 9 March, 2020 - 15:00
  • Jonny
  • Steinberg
Ethnographies of Global Policing

Pages