DateOrganiserTitleEvent-TypeWISER Research ThemeImportant for reporting:
Sunday, 31 December, 2023 - 12:00NuttallReading for Water: Materiality and Method edited Isabel Hofmeyr, Charne Lavery and Sarah Nuttall Book LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Wednesday, 6 December, 2023 - 12:30CiroliaFintech in Nairobi: Exploring techno-worlding and ordinary speculation | Trust SeminarCollaborations, SeminarsTrustNo
Wednesday, 6 December, 2023 - 12:30CiroliaFintech in Nairobi: Exploring techno-worlding and ordinary speculation | Trust SeminarCollaborations, SeminarsTrustNo
Thursday, 30 November, 2023 - 16:30PhillipsCall for MA Scholarship Applications | Currencies, Colonial Economies, and the Making of South African State: Studying Economic History in South Africa AdvertisementsTrustNo
Thursday, 30 November, 2023 - 12:00RottenburgTranslating Technology in Africa. Volume 1: Metrics | BrillBook LaunchesDigital Humanities, STS AfricaNo
Wednesday, 29 November, 2023 - 17:00BreckenridgeInvitation | Post-Extractivism Post-InstituteCollaborationsEnvironmental HumanitiesYes
Wednesday, 22 November, 2023 - 14:00NansubugaNTV Debate -- Leaving no one behind : Assessing Uganda's readiness for Ndaga MuntuPublic EventsPolicyYes
Wednesday, 15 November, 2023 - 16:00klaarenCall for Applications | Crafting Socio-Legal Methods in Africa: Local Realities and Global DebatesAdvertisementsLaw and PersonhoodNo
Wednesday, 8 November, 2023 - 18:00NuttallFinal Session Heated Conversations by Panashe Chigumadzi with Sethembile Msezane| 9 Nov | 6pm (Johannesburg time)Public EventsLocations of African Critical TheoryNo
Wednesday, 8 November, 2023 - 09:00BreckenridgeTrust in Mining | Keynote | Courageous ConversationsCollaborations, Public EventsTrust, PolicyYes
Wednesday, 8 November, 2023 - 09:00BreckenridgeTrust in Mining | Keynote | Courageous ConversationsCollaborations, Public EventsTrust, PolicyYes
Friday, 3 November, 2023 - 17:00MbembeINVITE | HOLBERG PRIZE and the INNOVATION FOUNDATION FOR DEMOCRACY | SOUTH AFRICA CONVERSATIONS 2023 SeminarsKnowledge FuturesNo
Tuesday, 31 October, 2023 - 18:00NuttallWiSER announces a new Seminar Series : Heated Conversations SeminarsKnowledge FuturesYes
Monday, 23 October, 2023 - 16:00The Politics of Seamless Travel: From matters of care and concern to matters of dissentSeminars
Monday, 16 October, 2023 - 16:00Beyond the ‘definition paradigm’: Rethinking ‘community’ and mining-led conflict in rural South AfricaSeminars
Wednesday, 11 October, 2023 - 18:00NuttallINVITE | Heated Conversations by Gabeba Baderoon | 11 Oct | 6pm (Johannesburg time)Public EventsKnowledge FuturesNo
Wednesday, 11 October, 2023 - 12:00NuttallHeated Conversations I Final Four SessionsSeminarsKnowledge FuturesNo
Tuesday, 10 October, 2023 - 16:00BreckenridgeInterdisciplinary Research Webinar on Population Registers, Ethics and Human RightsPublic EventsPolitics of Population Registration, TrustYes
Monday, 2 October, 2023 - 16:00A Catalytic Role Untold : Coca-Cola and the Undoing of ApartheidSeminars
Friday, 29 September, 2023 - 12:00BreckenridgeAdvertisement: WISER DirectorshipAdvertisementsAfrican Futures, Knowledge Futures, Locations of African Critical TheoryYes
Thursday, 28 September, 2023 - 18:00BreckenridgeBuried in Gold: A Non-Existent Regulatory Framework for Mining in South AfricaPublic EventsTrust, PolicyYes
Thursday, 28 September, 2023 - 18:00SacksINVITE | CONGO STYLE : From Belgian Art Nouveau to African Independence by Ruth Sacks | 28 Sept | 6pm | ONLINE Book LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Wednesday, 27 September, 2023 - 18:00NuttallINVITE | Heated Conversations by Louise Green | 27 Sept | 6pm (Johannesburg time)SeminarsKnowledge FuturesNo
Thursday, 21 September, 2023 - 18:00GevisserBook Launch | The Revolution will not be Litigated - Edited by Katie Redford & Mark Gevisser | 21 Sept | 6pm Book LaunchesLaw and PersonhoodYes
Wednesday, 20 September, 2023 - 09:00BreckenridgeCSIR Centre for the 4th Industrial Revolution | Digital IdentityPublic EventsTrust, PolicyYes
Monday, 18 September, 2023 - 16:00An Overview of Frontier Technologies for Land Tenure: How to Avoid the Hype and Focus on What Matters SeminarsTrust
Wednesday, 13 September, 2023 - 18:00NuttallINVITE | Heated Conversations by Cajetan Iheka | 13 Sept | 6pm (Johannesburg time)SeminarsKnowledge FuturesNo
Monday, 11 September, 2023 - 16:00Bargaining with the state? Black farmers’ petitions for agricultural support, amidst white farmers’ subsidies, 1920s-1970sSeminarsTrust
Wednesday, 6 September, 2023 - 16:00NuttalReading From the South : African Print Cultures and Oceanic Turns in Isabel Hofmeyr’s Work | 6 September | 4pm @WISEROnlineBook LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Wednesday, 6 September, 2023 - 12:00BreckenridgeFinance, smaller firms and employment : An abusive relationshipSeminarsTrust, PolicyYes
Monday, 4 September, 2023 - 16:00A population-based estimation and assessment of persons lacking official proof of legal identitySeminarsTrust
Monday, 28 August, 2023 - 16:00“Open Doors” and “Stranger Natives”: white supremacy, racialisation and governing im/mobilities in African TrustsSeminarsTrust
Thursday, 24 August, 2023 - 12:30BreckenridgeLand, debt and trust in the making of biometric capitalism SeminarsTrustNo
Monday, 21 August, 2023 - 16:00"The girl is not consulted" : Abduction marriages and gendered traditions of violenceSeminarsTrust
Wednesday, 16 August, 2023 - 12:00BreckenridgeDecolonisation and the Archive: Languages and Method in the Digital Era | 16-17 Aug | 12noon - 3:30 SeminarsDigital HumanitiesNo
Tuesday, 15 August, 2023 - 13:00NUTTALLLunchtime Seminar on Rural Imaginations with Esther Peeren and Tjalling Valdés Olmos | 15 Aug | 1pmSeminarsCurating the Afropolitan CityYes
Monday, 14 August, 2023 - 14:00“Astral Forms: Halley’s Comet and Sol Plaatje’s Reading of the “Long White Tail” of Colonial History.” Seminars
Monday, 7 August, 2023 - 16:00The Land and its people : The South African ‘Land Question’ and the Post-Apartheid Political OrderSeminarsTrust
Thursday, 3 August, 2023 - 18:00NuttallOnline Discussion with Bridget Kenny | 3 August | 6pm SeminarsKnowledge FuturesYes
Wednesday, 2 August, 2023 - 10:00HofmeyrINVITE | Heated Conversations by Debjani Ganguly | 2 August | 10am (Johannesburg time)SeminarsKnowledge FuturesYes
Monday, 31 July, 2023 - 16:00Changing Verifiable Identity Across Africa: A Sociotechnical and Political Economy Mapping of Initiatives for Digital Public InfrastructureSeminarsTrust
Saturday, 29 July, 2023 - 11:00HofmeyrWiSER Invites you to GASP - An Exhibition by Isabel Hofmeyr | 28-29 Oct 2023 Public EventsKnowledge FuturesNo
Thursday, 27 July, 2023 - 17:00BallimBook discussion with Faeeza Ballim on ESKOM: Power, Politics and the (Post) Apartheid StateBook LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Wednesday, 26 July, 2023 - 18:00HofmeyrHeated Conversations by Sumana Roy | 26 July | 6pmPublic EventsCurating the Afropolitan CityYes
Friday, 21 July, 2023 - 00:00BreckenridgeAppointment | Researcher | Trust InfrastructuresAdvertisementsTrustYes
Wednesday, 19 July, 2023 - 18:00NuttallHeated Conversations by Radhika Subramaniam | 19 July | 6pmPublic EventsKnowledge FuturesYes
Tuesday, 18 July, 2023 - 13:00NUTTALLLunchtime Seminar by Siseko Kumalo | Tuesday, 18th July | 1pm SeminarsAfrican FuturesYes
Wednesday, 21 June, 2023 - 18:00NuttallHeated Conversations by Hugo ka Canham | 21 June | 6pmPublic EventsKnowledge FuturesYes
Tuesday, 13 June, 2023 - 18:00DeshmukhOnline book discussion with Vron Ware on RETURN OF A NATIVE : Learning from the LandPublic EventsKnowledge FuturesNo
Thursday, 8 June, 2023 - 10:00Platform economies: Beyond the North-South divideSeminarsTrust
Monday, 5 June, 2023 - 16:00Nets of Social Motion: Black Christianity in South African HistorySeminars
Monday, 29 May, 2023 - 16:00Cooperatives and cooperation: Black and white farmers in the Transvaal, 1930s-1960sSeminarsTrust
Sunday, 28 May, 2023 - 14:00NuttallWORDS Festival | Sunday, 28th May Public EventsKnowledge FuturesNo
Tuesday, 23 May, 2023 - 18:00Mpofu-WalshBook discussion | Winnie & Nelson - Portrait of a Marriage by Jonny Steinberg | 23 May | 6pm | In-PersonPublic EventsKnowledge FuturesYes
Monday, 22 May, 2023 - 16:00Center-led Fiscal Reform and the Rise of Regional Power Blocs in a Limpopo Municipality, 1980-2020SeminarsTrust
Monday, 15 May, 2023 - 16:00“Open Doors” and “Stranger Natives”: white supremacy, racialisation and governing im/mobilities in African TrustsSeminarsTrust
Monday, 8 May, 2023 - 16:00Regulatory efforts to reign in digital credit: Case study of evolving regulation in KenyaSeminarsTrust
Thursday, 4 May, 2023 - 09:00BreckenridgeThe World is Ending Again: African Humanities in Times of CrisisCollaborationsSugarmanYes
Wednesday, 26 April, 2023 - 10:00NuttallNew Online Series - Heated Conversations | Killian QuigleySeminarsKnowledge FuturesNo
Tuesday, 25 April, 2023 - 12:30NuttallINVITE | Book Launch and Discussion on Jochen Arndt's new book | 25 April | 12:30 Book LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Monday, 24 April, 2023 - 16:00“We Will Not Follow You Like Sheep”: Literacy, Officialdom, and Generational Politics in the Digital AgeSeminarsTrust
Wednesday, 19 April, 2023 - 18:00HofmeyrNew Online Series - Heated Conversations SeminarsLocations of African Critical TheoryYes
Wednesday, 5 April, 2023 - 13:00XabaNONI JABAVU A Stranger at HomeBook LaunchesKnowledge FuturesYes
Monday, 3 April, 2023 - 16:00An air of legality – legalization under conditions of rightlessness in IndonesiaSeminars
Thursday, 30 March, 2023 - 18:00HofmeyrHeated Conversations announcementSeminarsLocations of African Critical TheoryYes
Wednesday, 29 March, 2023 - 18:00NuttallNew Online Series - Heated Conversations | Grace Musila | 29 March | 6pm SeminarsLocations of African Critical TheoryYes
Tuesday, 28 March, 2023 - 14:00ManbyBronwen Manby | Post-Colonial Citizenship and Decolonisation as a Turning Point: Continuities and Discontinuities in African StatesSeminarsTrustYes
Monday, 27 March, 2023 - 16:00Labour recruiters as Lumpen-brokersSeminars
Thursday, 23 March, 2023 - 14:00BreckenridgePIAF | Identification and Citizenship in Africa -- an overviewCollaborations, SeminarsTrustNo
Thursday, 23 March, 2023 - 14:00BreckenridgePIAF | Identification and Citizenship in Africa -- an overviewCollaborations, SeminarsTrustNo
Monday, 20 March, 2023 - 16:00Looking below racism. Renegotiating authority at school through challenging the policing of hairstyles, an inside view on a girls-led protest in Soweto.SeminarsLaw and Personhood
Wednesday, 15 March, 2023 - 16:00BreckenridgeInvitation | Building trust after the African polycrisis | People, Energy, Climate and FinancePublic EventsTrust, PolicyYes
Monday, 13 March, 2023 - 16:00The (un) making of electoral transparency through technology: The 2017 Kenyan presidential election controversySeminarsTrust
Monday, 6 March, 2023 - 16:00Researching Africa and the Offshore WorldSeminarsTrust
Thursday, 2 March, 2023 - 18:00HofmeyrPOSTPONED | Book discussion | NONI JABAVU - A Stranger at Home | 2 March | 6pm | In-PersonBook LaunchesLocations of African Critical TheoryYes
Monday, 27 February, 2023 - 16:00Capitalizing on competing property titles in the Simandou iron ore reserves in Guinea:investor-state arbitration vs host-stranger relationsSeminarsTrust
Monday, 20 February, 2023 - 16:00The Memory Flâneur in Teju Cole’s Open CitySeminars
Monday, 13 February, 2023 - 16:00Denationalization in the Dominican Republic: Trapping Victims in the State’s Administrative MazeSeminarsPolitics of Population Registration
Thursday, 9 February, 2023 - 18:00NuttallINVITE | Book discussion | IN THE SKIN OF THE CITY - Spatial Transformation in Luanda by António Tomás | 8 Feb | 7pm | ONLINE Book LaunchesCurating the Afropolitan CityYes
Wednesday, 1 February, 2023 - 12:00In this week’s episode, AnnekeThe WiSER Podcast | Bessie Head's Absorbent Literature by Anneke RautenbachPodcastsLocations of African Critical TheoryNo
Tuesday, 31 January, 2023 - 17:00NuttallINVITE | Book discussion | CHANGING THE SUBJECT | Feminist and Queer Politics in Neoliberal India by Srila Roy | 31 Jan | 5pm Book LaunchesGoverning IntimaciesYes
Friday, 20 January, 2023 - 18:00BreckenridgeAfrican Trust Infrastructures : Call for Doctoral Fellowship ApplicationsAdvertisementsTrustYes
Sunday, 1 January, 2023 - 00:00NuttallSarah Nuttall Finishes her Second Term as WiSER DirectorPublic EventsLocations of African Critical TheoryYes