DateOrganiserTitleEvent-TypeWISER Research ThemeImportant for reporting:
Monday, 7 November, 2022 - 16:00Publics, Counterpublics, Black Publics: The Growth of a Negritude Public in the Twentieth CenturySeminars
Thursday, 3 November, 2022 - 12:00Balaton-ChrimesMaking minorities and marginalised groups in KenyaSeminarsBhalisa - Politics of Population Registration, Law and PersonhoodNo
Wednesday, 2 November, 2022 - 17:00NuttallINVITE | Siseko Kumalo, Edwin Cameron and Gerrit Olivier on Koos Prinsloo | 2 Nov | 5pmPublic EventsCurating the Afropolitan CityNo
Monday, 31 October, 2022 - 16:00On Being Touched by Boeremusiek: Listening as Haptic Event Seminars
Monday, 24 October, 2022 - 16:00Architecture and History in a Refugee CampSeminars
Thursday, 20 October, 2022 - 18:00MbembeINVITE | Debating Decolonization as a Theory of KnowledgeSeminarsPublic Positions, Locations of African Critical TheoryYes
Monday, 17 October, 2022 - 16:00Acknowledging Natural PunishmentSeminars
Monday, 3 October, 2022 - 16:00Colonial Carnivalesque: Transgressing Normativities and Gender Performance in Mozambique and AngolaSeminars
Saturday, 1 October, 2022 - 00:00BAThe WiSER Podcast | Cheikh BA | Riverine landscapes in SenegalPodcastsOceanic Humanities, Locations of African Critical TheoryNo
Friday, 30 September, 2022 - 14:00RottenburgTechnoscapes | Guest Lecture by Ranjit Singh | 30 Sept | 2pmSeminarsSTS AfricaYes
Thursday, 29 September, 2022 - 13:00RottenburgINVITE | Technicisation and (De)colonisation | 29 Sept | 1pmSeminarsSTS Africa, Knowledge Futures, African FuturesYes
Wednesday, 28 September, 2022 - 18:00MbembeINVITE | Lecture by Eyal Weizman on “Cloud Studies: Atmospheric Violence” Public EventsSTS Africa, Medical Humanities in Africa, Digital Humanities, Locations of African Critical TheoryYes
Monday, 26 September, 2022 - 16:00Mandela's NurseSeminars
Thursday, 22 September, 2022 - 18:00KlaarenThe History of Black Lawyers in South Africa and Beyond IISeminarsLaw and PersonhoodYes
Thursday, 22 September, 2022 - 12:00GagliardoneINVITE | Lunchtime seminar by Ramesh Srinivasan | 22 Sept | 12noonSeminarsSTS AfricaNo
Wednesday, 21 September, 2022 - 18:00van SchalkwykOnline Book Discussion | WORRIER STATE | Risk, anxiety and moral panic in South Africa by Nicky Falkof | 21 Sept | 6pmBook LaunchesLocations of African Critical TheoryNo
Monday, 19 September, 2022 - 16:00Dissonant intimacies: South-South asymmetries, coloniality and failureSeminars
Monday, 5 September, 2022 - 16:00Imported Black Books, Radical Undesirability, and Comparative Reading Under ApartheidSeminars
Wednesday, 31 August, 2022 - 12:00BreckenridgeCall for Applications: Population, Ethics, and Human Rights FellowshipAdvertisements for JobsBhalisa - Politics of Population Registration, TrustYes
Monday, 29 August, 2022 - 16:00Anti-colonial resistance in South Africa and Israel/Palestine: comparative dimensionsSeminars
Monday, 22 August, 2022 - 16:00The Bitter Aloe Project: Applying Advanced Machine Learning to the Truth and Reconciliation ArchiveSeminars
Thursday, 18 August, 2022 - 12:00The politics of cooperative movements in three continents: Mesopotomia Coop in Rojava, Mondragon in Basque Country and ASCOOP in ColombiaPublic Events
Monday, 15 August, 2022 - 16:00Born White: Race, Religion, and the Conscientious Objector to Smallpox Vaccination in Britain and NatalSeminars
Monday, 8 August, 2022 - 17:00van SchalkwykThe New Nuclear AgePodcastsKnowledge FuturesYes
Thursday, 4 August, 2022 - 17:00HofmeyrTwo Oceanic EventsPublic EventsOceanic HumanitiesNo
Thursday, 4 August, 2022 - 17:00HofmeyrMarigold Oceanic Bead Event | 4th Aug at 5pm Public EventsOceanic HumanitiesYes
Thursday, 4 August, 2022 - 15:00HofmeyrTwo Oceanic events at WiSER | 4 Aug | 3pm to 7pm Public EventsOceanic HumanitiesYes
Wednesday, 3 August, 2022 - 21:00KlaraanA History of Black Lawyers in South Africa | 3 August | 9am | WISER Seminar room Public EventsLaw and PersonhoodYes
Wednesday, 3 August, 2022 - 17:00klaarenA History of Black Lawyers in South AfricaPublic EventsLaw and PersonhoodYes
Wednesday, 3 August, 2022 - 17:00MbembeInvite - Seminar by Achille Mbembe on Notes on Planetary Habitability | 3 Aug | 5pm | Senate Room Public EventsKnowledge FuturesNo
Wednesday, 3 August, 2022 - 09:00KlaarenA History of Black Lawyers in South AfricaPublic Events, SeminarsLaw and PersonhoodYes
Wednesday, 3 August, 2022 - 09:00KlaarenA History of Black Lawyers in South AfricaPublic Events, SeminarsLaw and PersonhoodYes
Tuesday, 2 August, 2022 - 18:00NuttallInvite - Wits University Press turns 100 | 2 August | 6pm Public EventsKnowledge FuturesYes
Monday, 1 August, 2022 - 16:00Finding Nemo: Energy, Justice and TransitionSeminars
Friday, 29 July, 2022 - 12:00Simoes De AraujoThe WiSER Podcast | Caio Simoes De Araujo | Bridging the Bay: Maputo-KatembePodcastsKnowledge FuturesYes
Thursday, 28 July, 2022 - 13:00NuttallRethinking Social Justice: Ecological Justice and Ordinary Violence TodayPublic EventsKnowledge FuturesYes
Thursday, 28 July, 2022 - 13:00BreckenridgeProgramme in African Digital Humanities : Beyond Year ThreePublic Events, SeminarsDigital HumanitiesYes
Thursday, 28 July, 2022 - 13:00BreckenridgeProgramme in African Digital Humanities : Beyond Year ThreePublic Events, SeminarsDigital HumanitiesYes
Wednesday, 27 July, 2022 - 12:00XabaBOOK LAUNCH: Foundational African Writers | Johannesburg - Thurs, 28 July 2022 - 17:30Book LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Thursday, 21 July, 2022 - 12:00HofmeyrDockside Reading: Hydrocolonialism and the Custom HouseBook LaunchesOceanic HumanitiesYes
Monday, 18 July, 2022 - 17:00Mokoena Routledge Handbook of Critical Studies in WhitenessPublic EventsKnowledge FuturesYes
Thursday, 14 July, 2022 - 17:00MokoenaCurating Africans | Decolonizing Art?Advertisements for JobsKnowledge FuturesYes
Tuesday, 28 June, 2022 - 17:00LaverySchool for Human Rights and the EnvironmentAdvertisements for JobsOceanic HumanitiesNo
Monday, 13 June, 2022 - 20:00ChikaneThe WiSER Podcast | Season 5 | Episode 1 Advertisements for JobsKnowledge FuturesYes
Thursday, 9 June, 2022 - 12:00TelliCritical Thought, Human Rights and Freedom in the Middle East in 2020sPublic EventsKnowledge Futures, Law and PersonhoodYes
Wednesday, 8 June, 2022 - 00:00WrightVampires: Pandemics & PoliticsAdvertisements for JobsKnowledge FuturesYes
Tuesday, 7 June, 2022 - 18:00HeynenINVITE | "Making Homes in Displacement: Critical Reflections on a Spatial Practice" by Prof. Hilde Heynen | 7 June | 6pm Public EventsKnowledge FuturesNo
Tuesday, 7 June, 2022 - 13:00HofmeyrInvitation | Literary studies, decolonization and climate-transformed scholarship | 7 June | 1pm (online)Advertisements for JobsOceanic HumanitiesNo
Monday, 6 June, 2022 - 17:00NuttallThe WiSER Podcast | Season Five Public EventsKnowledge FuturesYes
Monday, 6 June, 2022 - 16:00The Ends of War : Homecoming for the Indian Soldier and Follower, 1914–21Seminars
Wednesday, 1 June, 2022 - 17:00KlaarenThe History of Black Lawyers in South AfricaAdvertisements for JobsLaw and PersonhoodNo
Wednesday, 1 June, 2022 - 16:00FarmanPublic Positions – Abou Farman on ‘Future Inevitable’ | 1 June | 4pm SA timePublic EventsPublic Positions, STS AfricaYes
Monday, 30 May, 2022 - 16:00On Pluviality: Reading for Rain in Namwali Serpell’sThe Old DriftSeminars
Thursday, 26 May, 2022 - 17:30MokoenaBook Launch | Spear: Mandela and the RevolutionariesBook LaunchesKnowledge FuturesYes
Thursday, 26 May, 2022 - 16:00HelgessonDECOLONISATIONS OF LITERATURE - Critical Practice in Africa and Brazil After 1945 Launch | 26 May | 4pm (Jhb time)Book LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Monday, 23 May, 2022 - 16:00A Man among Other Men: The Crisis of Black Masculinity in Racial CapitalismSeminars
Monday, 23 May, 2022 - 16:00AfricapitalismSeminars
Thursday, 19 May, 2022 - 16:00NuttallNew WiSER Research PlatformAdvertisements for JobsKnowledge FuturesNo
Monday, 16 May, 2022 - 16:00‘Grass in the cracks’: Gender, social reproduction and climate justice in the Xolobeni struggle.Seminars
Thursday, 12 May, 2022 - 13:00NuttallAfter Decolonization? First EventsPublic EventsLocations of African Critical TheoryYes
Monday, 25 April, 2022 - 16:00American ideology and the politics of pain in a South African universitySeminars
Monday, 11 April, 2022 - 16:00Macroeconomic determinants of South Africa’s post-apartheid income distributionSeminars
Wednesday, 6 April, 2022 - 14:30JasanoffPUBLIC POSITIONS SERIES - STS, Political Order and Maintaining Planetary Life by Sheila Jasanoff | 6 April | 2:30pm SA TIMEAdvertisements for JobsPublic Positions, STS AfricaYes
Tuesday, 5 April, 2022 - 13:00NuttallWISER Lunchtime Discussion : South Africa/Ukraine-Thinking migration crises across both contexts | 5 April | 1-2pmPublic EventsCurating the Afropolitan City, Law and Personhood, Locations of African Critical Theory, African FuturesYes
Monday, 4 April, 2022 - 16:00Cultural Property and The Question of RepatriationSeminars
Monday, 28 March, 2022 - 16:00The Archive Machine: The Truth Commission and the Archaeology of ApartheidSeminars
Tuesday, 22 March, 2022 - 17:00BarnettThe Weight in the AirAdvertisements for JobsKnowledge FuturesNo
Tuesday, 22 March, 2022 - 15:00LeonOmeka : Making Progress WorkshopSeminarsDigital HumanitiesYes
Tuesday, 15 March, 2022 - 17:00HofmeyrInvite | Book Launch | Isabel Hofmeyr and Charne Lavery | 15 March | 5pmBook LaunchesOceanic HumanitiesYes
Monday, 14 March, 2022 - 16:00Designing a syndemic risk environment: racial containment and health in historical context.Seminars
Tuesday, 8 March, 2022 - 13:00BreckenridgeDigital Research with ZoteroCollaborations, Public EventsDigital HumanitiesYes
Tuesday, 8 March, 2022 - 13:00BreckenridgeDigital Research with ZoteroCollaborations, Public EventsDigital HumanitiesYes
Monday, 7 March, 2022 - 16:00Twilight governance: local power, politics and participation in Luanda Seminars
Thursday, 3 March, 2022 - 17:00MokoenaStrange Cargo by Ashraf Jamal launches 3 MarchBook LaunchesKnowledge FuturesNo
Monday, 28 February, 2022 - 16:00Revolutionary mathematics : risk, class and the financial overthrow of mining capitalismSeminars
Friday, 11 February, 2022 - 09:30NuttallThe WiSER Podcast | Season FivePublic EventsOceanic Humanities, Knowledge Futures, Law and Personhood, Locations of African Critical TheoryYes
Monday, 7 February, 2022 - 16:00Cultural Property and the Question of RepatriationSeminars
Wednesday, 2 February, 2022 - 18:00BreckenridgeAfter Covid : An on-line panel discussion with Adam Tooze, Hilary Cooper and Simon SzreterBook LaunchesKnowledge FuturesYes
Saturday, 15 January, 2022 - 17:00MbembeCall for Applications | ONE YEAR POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIP | Regions2050 : Mobile spaces, porous borders, and pathways of regionalization EAdvertisements for JobsKnowledge FuturesYes