WISER Seminar Papers

WISER is very pleased to host the Wits Interdisciplinary Seminar in the Humanities. The presentations for the remainder of the current academic semester are listed below. The seminar takes place every Monday during the teaching term at 3:00pm in the WISER Seminar Room. Participants should please note that they are required to read the paper prior to the event.

WISER, and its predecessor institutions the Institute for Advanced Study and the African Studies Institute, have hosted similar seminars that date back to the late 1960s. The archive of those events is also available on the WISER web site at http://wiser.wits.ac.za.

Date Presented by Title
Monday, 3 April, 2017 - 15:00
  • Richard
  • Pithouse
Manichean Delirium (In the Time of Jacob Zuma)
Monday, 10 April, 2017 - 15:00
  • Gregory
  • Dowd
AMfecaneRICA, 1650-1850: What can Historians of Native America Learn from Southern Africanists?
Monday, 24 April, 2017 - 15:00
  • Edgar
  • Taylor
The Tank Hill Party: Generational Politics and Decolonization in East Africa
Monday, 8 May, 2017 - 17:00
  • Lucy
  • Allais
‘Is there Western Philosophy?’ a discussion with Lucy Allais and Eusebius McKaiser
Monday, 15 May, 2017 - 15:00
  • Daniel
  • Magaziner
African Architecture, Education and Possibility in the 1960s
Monday, 22 May, 2017 - 15:00
  • Cynthia
  • and John
  • Kros
  • Wright
"You can write and remember but we are simply izithunguthu'"
Monday, 29 May, 2017 - 15:00
  • Achille
  • Mbembe
Future Knowledges
Monday, 5 June, 2017 - 15:00
  • Robyn
  • Bloch
The apartheid historian’s struggle: black betrayal and its effects
Monday, 12 June, 2017 - 15:00
  • Grieve
  • Chelwa
Does economics have an ‘Africa Problem’? Some data and preliminary thoughts
Monday, 24 July, 2017 - 15:00
  • Kerry
  • Chance
Sacrifice After Mandela: Debts of Liberation Among South Africa’s First Post-Apartheid Generation
Monday, 31 July, 2017 - 15:00
  • Keith
  • Breckenridge
The single source of truth about Kenyans : collateral mysteries, credit information and Safaricom
Monday, 7 August, 2017 - 15:00
  • William
  • Mpofu
Decoloniality as Travelling Theory: Or What Decoloniality is not
Monday, 14 August, 2017 - 15:00
  • Juan
  • Obarrio
private/public government of communities
Monday, 28 August, 2017 - 15:00
  • Jim
  • Campbell
History, Memory, and the Mississippi Freedom Movement
Monday, 4 September, 2017 - 15:00
  • Benson A
  • Mulemi
Popular Theorizing on albinism and the human in Eastern Africa: Exploration of Tanzanian experience.
Monday, 18 September, 2017 - 15:00
  • Faeeza
  • Ballim
Neoliberalism and the techno-politics of Apartheid
Monday, 2 October, 2017 - 15:00
  • Darja
  • Djordjevic
Historicizing Public Oncology in Rwanda: From Geographies of Incidence to Onco-Nationhood (1915-2015)
Monday, 16 October, 2017 - 15:00
  • Thato
  • Masiangoako
The shaping of legal consciousness through the experience of short-term incarceration
Monday, 23 October, 2017 - 15:00
  • Srila
  • Roy
Queer activism as governmentality: regulating lesbian lives in India

Pages